Faculty

Faculty

The Department is located on the 1st floor of the Moore Humanities and Research Administration Building (MHRA) at the corner of Spring Garden and Forest Streets. Our corridor is immediately on the left (and partially hidden by a column!) as you come in the front entrance.

Tenured & Tenure-Track

Maura K. Heyn

Maura K. Heyn

Associate Professor, Department Head (Roman art & archaeology)
Email: mkheyn@uncg.edu
Office: 1103 MHRA

Read More »

Joanne M. Murphy

Joanne M. Murphy

Associate Professor (Aegean archaeology, Archaeological Methods and Theory)
Email: jmmurph2@uncg.edu
Office: 1107 MHRA

Read More »

Hugh Parker

Hugh C. Parker

Associate Professor (Latin poetry, Medieval Latin)
Email: hcparker@uncg.edu
Office: 1109 MHRA
on leave Fall 2017

Read More »

Susan Shelmerdine

Susan C. Shelmerdine

Professor (Greek & Latin pedagogy, Greek poetry)
Email: shelmerd@uncg.edu
Office: 1111 MHRA

Read More »

David Wharton

David B. Wharton

Associate Professor (Linguistics, Latin poetry)
Email: wharton@uncg.edu
Office: 1115 MHRA

Read More »

Jonathan P. Zarecki

Jonathan P. Zarecki

Associate Professor (Roman history, Republican literature)
Email: jpzareck@uncg.edu
Office: 1113 MHRA

Read More »

Visiting Faculty

John E. Esposito

Lecturer (Greek Poetry, Intellectual History)
Email: jeesposi@uncg.edu
Office: 1112 MHRA

Read More »

Derek Keyser

Lecturer (Greek Tragedy, Epic Poetry, Ancient Philosophy, Classics & Film)
Email: dskeyser@uncg.edu
Office: 1108 MHRA

Read More »

Robyn Le Blanc

Lecturer (Roman provincial archaeology, mythology, religion, digital humanities)
Email: rlleblan@uncg.edu
Office: 1110 MHRA

Read More »

Emeritus Faculty

Jeffrey Soles

Jeffrey S. Soles

Professor Emeritus (Greek archaeology)
Email: jssoles@uncg.edu
Office: 1112 MHRA

Read More »

Staff

Shannon Byers

Shannon Byers

Administrative Liaison to the Modern World and Head Wrangler
Email: slbyers@uncg.edu
Office: 1105 MHRA

Read More »