People

The Department is located on the 1st floor of the Moore Humanities and Research Administration Building (MHRA) at the corner of Spring Garden and Forest Streets. Our corridor is immediately on the left (and partially hidden by a column!) as you come in the front entrance.

Joanne M. Murphy

Department Head and Professor (Aegean archaeology, Archaeological Methods and Theory)

Email: jmmurph2@uncg.edu
Office: 1107 MHRA

Read More >>

 

Tenured & Tenure-Track Faculty

Maura Heyn

Maura K. Heyn

Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Email: mkheyn@uncg.edu
Office: 105 Foust - Dean's Office

Read More »

Robyn Le Blanc

Assistant Professor (Roman archaeology, Roman provinces, numismatics)
Email: rlleblan@uncg.edu
Office: 1109 MHRA

Read More »

Michiel C. Van Veldhuizen

Assistant Professor (Greek literature, religion, environmental humanities)
Email: mcvanveldhu@uncg.edu
Office: 1111 MHRA
On leave Spring 2024

Read More »

David B. Wharton

David B. Wharton

Associate Professor (Linguistics, Latin poetry)
Email: wharton@uncg.edu
Office: 1115 MHRA
teaching only Spring semesters 2024, 2025, 2026

Read More »

Jonathan P. Zarecki

Associate Professor (Roman history, Republican literature)
Email: jpzareck@uncg.edu
Office: 1113 MHRA

Read More »

Professional Track Faculty

Aisha Dad

Lecturer (Mythology, Classical Reception, South Asia)
Email: a_dadvanvel@uncg.edu
Office: 1110 MHRA
On leave Spring 2024

Read More »

Georgios Doudalis

Georgios Doudalis

Lecturer (Aegean Archaeology, Classical Archaeology, Ancient Technology)
Email: g_doudalis@uncg.edu
Office: 1107 MHRA

Read More »

Derek Keyser

Lecturer (Greek Tragedy, Epic Poetry, Ancient Philosophy, Classics & Film)
Email: dskeyser@uncg.edu
Office: 1108 MHRA

Read More »

Research Associates

Georgios Doudalis

Georgios Doudalis

Lecturer (Aegean Archaeology, Classical Archaeology, Ancient Technology)
Email: g_doudalis@uncg.edu
Office: 1107 MHRA

Read More »

Retired Faculty

Hugh Parker

Hugh C. Parker

Associate Professor Emeritus (Latin poetry, Medieval Latin)
Email: hcparker@uncg.edu
Office:

Read More »

Susan C. Shelmerdine

Professor Emerita (Greek & Latin pedagogy, Greek poetry)
Email: shelmerd@uncg.edu
Office:

Read More »

Jeffrey Soles

Jeffrey S. Soles

Professor Emeritus (Greek archaeology)
Email: jssoles@uncg.edu
Office:

Read More »

Staff

Shannon Byers

Shannon Byers

Administrative Liaison to the Modern World and Head Wrangler
Email: slbyers@uncg.edu
Office: 1105 MHRA

Read More »