Faculty

Faculty

The Department is located on the 1st floor of the Moore Humanities and Research Administration Building (MHRA) at the corner of Spring Garden and Forest Streets. Our corridor is immediately on the left (and partially hidden by a column!) as you come in the front entrance.

Tenured & Tenure-Track

Maura K. Heyn

Maura K. Heyn

Professor, Department Head (Roman art & archaeology)
Email: mkheyn@uncg.edu
Office: 1103 MHRA

Read More »

Robyn Le Blanc

Assistant Professor (Roman provincial archaeology, mythology, religion, digital humanities)
Email: rlleblan@uncg.edu
Office: 1109 MHRA

Read More »

Joanne M. Murphy

Joanne M. Murphy

Associate Professor (Aegean archaeology, Archaeological Methods and Theory)
Email: jmmurph2@uncg.edu
Office: 1107 MHRA

Read More »

Susan C. Shelmerdine

Professor (Greek & Latin pedagogy, Greek poetry)
Email: shelmerd@uncg.edu
Office: 1111 MHRA

Read More »

Michiel C. Van Veldhuizen

Assistant Professor (Greek literature, religion, environmental humanities)
Email: mcvanveldhu@uncg.edu
Office: 1110

Read More »

David B. Wharton

Associate Professor (Linguistics, Latin poetry)
Email: wharton@uncg.edu
Office: 1115 MHRA

Read More »

Jonathan P. Zarecki

Associate Professor (Roman history, Republican literature)
Email: jpzareck@uncg.edu
Office: 1113 MHRA

Read More »

Visiting Faculty

Georgios Doudalis

Lecturer
Email: g_doudalis@uncg.edu
Office: 1112 MHRA

Read More »

Derek Keyser

Lecturer (Greek Tragedy, Epic Poetry, Ancient Philosophy, Classics & Film)
Email: dskeyser@uncg.edu
Office: 1108 MHRA

Read More »

Rebecca M. Muich

Assistant Dean in Lloyd International Honors College
Email: rmmuich@uncg.edu
Office: 203A Foust Bldg.

Read More »

Matthew D. Schueller

Lecturer
Email: mdschueller@uncg.edu
Office: 1112 MHRA

Read More »

Emeritus Faculty

Hugh Parker

Hugh C. Parker

Associate Professor Emeritus (Latin poetry, Medieval Latin)
Email: hcparker@uncg.edu
Office:

Read More »

Jeffrey Soles

Jeffrey S. Soles

Professor Emeritus (Greek archaeology)
Email: jssoles@uncg.edu
Office: 1112 MHRA

Read More »

Staff

Shannon Byers

Shannon Byers

Administrative Liaison to the Modern World and Head Wrangler
Email: slbyers@uncg.edu
Office: 1105 MHRA

Read More »